Proxmox/Hyper-V/VMware

How to create and delete a snapshot on VMware Workstation

Snapshot

A snapshot preserves the state and data of a virtual machine at a specific point in time. The data includes all of the files that make up the virtual machine. This includes disks, memory, and other devices, such as virtual network interface cards. A virtual machine provides several operations for creating and managing snapshots and snapshot chains. These operations let you create snapshots, revert to any snapshot in the chain, and remove snapshots. You can create extensive snapshot trees. The ability to create a point-in-time snapshot of a virtual machine was first introduced in VMware Workstation 4. You can create a snapshot of a VM when it is powered on, off, or suspended. A snapshot stores the complete state and data of a virtual machine whenever a snapshot is created: Here are some related articles: How to install Windows Server 2022 on VMware Workstation, how to solve VMware workstation .lck error, how to extend a VM’s Hard Disk on VMware Workstation,  fix EFI network timeout on VMware Workstation, and how to add and remove a new virtual disk from a VM on VMware Workstation.

You may want to extend the volume on one of your VMs, because tthe VM has a snapshot created, you will not be able to
expand the drive. Therefore you may want to delete the snapshot of it is no longer vital. You may want to see how to create a HyperV checkpoint.

Create a snapshot: To create a snapshot, right-click on the VM and select Snapshot. This is a very basic task and you should be able to complete it.

Screenshot-2021-05-24-at-20.18.13

Delete a snapshot: To delete a created snapshot, right-click on the VM and select Snapshot Manager.

Screenshot-2021-05-24-at-19.52.53

This will open up the Snapshot Manager wizard, select the snapshot and click on delete as shown below.

Screenshot-2021-05-24-at-19.53.30

In the confirmation window, click on Yes to delete the snapshot

Screenshot-2021-05-24-at-19.53.55

As you can see the snapshot is being deleted

Screenshot-2021-05-24-at-20.02.49

The snapshot has been deleted as shown below. Click on close to complete the process.

Screenshot-2021-05-24-at-20.17.07

I hope you found this blog post helpful. If you have any questions, please let me know in the comment session.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x