Mac OS

How to fix repeated app blocking connection alerts from Norton on Mac

Norton is an anti-virus or anti-malware software product developed and distributed by NortonLifeLock. I currently use Norton 360 on my Mac and Windows devices. Norton 360 provides you with powerful layers of protection for your connected devices and offers online privacy. Your PCs, Macs, tablets, and smartphones are protected from viruses, ransomware, malware, and other online threats. For more information, please see the following link. See this guide for how to allow a blocked app: Application blocked unable to run and apply settings.

Have you recently come across this persistent issue “repeated Connection Blocking alerts from Norton for Mac” as shown below? If you are inexperienced, this might even make you uninstall Norton from your device. Even when you click on “always use this setting for this type of connection”, you will still be prompted again and again with the following window below. It’s irritating, to say the least.

Why does this happen? 

When an application or service tries to connect to your computer over the Internet, Norton prompts you to allow or block it.
- If the connection request is from a known application or service that you think is safe, you can allow the connection.
- If you are not sure about the source of the connection requests, in the notification window, click Details to view the connection details. You can then choose to allow or block the connection request.

The Connection Blocking window lets you specify the applications, ports, services, and IP addresses that can connect to and from your Mac. Based on the access settings that you specify, the firewall allows or blocks any attempt to connect using the application, service, or from the IP address. When an application or service tries to connect to your computer over the Internet, Norton notifies you and prompts you to allow or block it. You may want to see “how to fix error reading setup initialization file“.

If the connection request is from a known application or service that you think is safe, you can allow the connection. If you are not sure about the source of connection request, in the notification window, click Details to view the connection details as shown above.

Note: You can then choose to allow or block the connection request. The Connection Blocking settings that you configure are specific to the selected network location. If you have changed your network, you may receive the connection blocking alert again. Choose Allow or Block in the Connection Blocking alert window.

In some instances, the Connection Blocking rule for an application does not apply and results in repeated Application Blocking alerts. To fix this problem, remove the Application Blocking rule for the application, and add it again.

Part A – Remove the Connection Blocking rule: In order to have a lasting solution you may have to remove this rule and restart your PC. But if you wish to add the rule again, follow the steps discussed in Part B.

– Launch the Norton solution as shown below. This will open the Norton Security window
– Click on Settings.

This will open up the Norton Advanced Settings. In the left pane, click on Firewall.

In the right pane, next to Connection Blocking, click the settings icon. This will open up the Connection blocking dialog window.
– For the “Untrusted network (current), you will have to remove the applications.
– I will be selecting the IP under Google Chrome and
– Click on Remove

You will be asked to confirm if you are sure you want to remove the application as shown below.
– Click on remove

As you can see, the the application that is causing the the repeated Norton alerts for is no longer present. If you do not restart your device at this time, you will still be getting the numerous annoying alerts.

  • Kindly exit all programs and restart your Mac.

Also, let’s navigate to the “Trusted network“. As you can see the application is set to block all incoming connections.

Ensure the connections are set to allow as shown below

As you can see below below, the connection are now allowed in the trusted network for Google Chrome

Optional Step: If you wish to remove Chrome as a whole, click on Google Chrome and
– Select Remove as shown below

You will be asked to confirm if you really want to remove the application.

Note: Kindly exit all programs and restart your Mac. If you do not restart your device at this time, you will still be getting the numerous annoying alerts.

I hope you found this blog post helpful. If you have any questions, please let me know in the comment session.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x
Kindly subscribe to TechDirectArchive
This is default text for notification bar