Version Control System (VSC)

How to Archive, Unarchive or Delete a GitLab Project

ArchiveUnarchiveDelete134-

GitLab helps you automate builds, integration, and verification of your code. With SAST, DAST, code quality analysis, plus pipelines that enable concurrent testing and parallel execution, your teams get quick insights about every commit so they can deliver higher quality code faster. Only project owners and administrators have permission to archive a project. Once a project is archived, the repository, packages, issues, merge requests, and all other functions are read-only. It is also worth noting that the archived projects are hidden in the project lists. To show them, this option must be explicitly enabled. After an administrator deletes a GitLab project, all associated resources are permanently deleted and cannot be restored. Therefore, you must ensure you undergo adequate approval before deleting a project in GitLab. Here are some related guides: How to install, register and start GitLab Runner on Windows, and how to unregister a GitLab Runner.

When GitLab projects that are no longer actively used but need to be available for read-access can be archived. Only project owners and administrators have permission to archive a project. Once a project is archived, the repository, packages, issues, merge requests, and all other functions are read-only.

The Settings page in GitLab provides a centralized home for your project configuration options. To access it, go to your project’s homepage and, in the left navigation menu, select Settings. To reduce complexity, settings are grouped by topic into sections. To display all settings in a section, select Expand. Here is how to import your project from Bitbucket Server or Bitbucket Cloud to GitLab.

In this guide, I will be demonstrating how to easily archive and delete GitLab projects. GitLab projects that are no longer actively used but need to be available for reading access can be archived.

Note: Only users who have the Maintainer role for the project and administrators can access project settings. You may also want to see the following guides: How to uninstall GitLab from your Windows device, How to deploy and use Windows containers with Gitlab CI, and

Archive a GitLab Project

To archive a project, kindly follow the steps below. Access the project and click on it as shown below

Screenshot-2022-04-27-at-20.36.32

Open the Project “settings”

Screenshot-2022-04-27-at-20.37.48

In the project settings, click on General. Now under Advanced select, the setting “Expand”.

Screenshot-2022-04-27-at-20.39.02

Here you will find the item “Archive project”. There you can archive the project. You will be asked whether you really want to archive the project.

Screenshot-2022-04-27-at-20.41.04

After that the project is archived. In the project view and in the personal view you will now find indications that the project is archived

Unarchive a GitLab Project

To unarchive a project, proceed in the same way as for archiving. This time, the “Unarchive Project” is selected.

Delete a GitLab Project

To delete a GitLab project, click the Expand button in the Advanced section of the General Project Settings tab. The last option on the page is a red button that says Remove Project.

You can mark a project to be deleted, but you must must have at least the Owner role for a project before you can delete.

On the top bar, select Menu, and then Projects and locate the project you wish to delete. On the left sidebar, select Settings > General as shown below.

  • You will have to Expand the Advanced button. In the “Delete project” section, select Delete project.
Screenshot-2022-04-27-at-20.41.26

You will be required to “Enter the following to conform”: This will be your project name 🙂 When you are done, click on Yes, delete project

Screenshot-2022-04-27-at-20.42.40

Now you will need to confirm the action when asked to. This action will delete the project including all associated resources (issues, merge requests, etc.)

As you can see in the image below, the project and all associated resources permanently deleted from the server.

Screenshot-2022-04-27-at-20.43.20
The default deletion behavior for projects was changed to delayed project deletion in GitLab 12.6, and then to immediate deletion in GitLab 13.2.

I hope you found this blog post helpful. If you have any questions, please let me know in the comment session.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x