Skip to content

TechDirectArchive

Hands-on IT, Cloud, Security, Veeam & DevOps

  • Home
  • About
  • Advertise With US
  • Reviews
  • Contact
  • Toggle search form

How to automatically offload unused Apps on iPhone

Posted on 03/07/202216/08/2026 Christian By Christian No Comments on How to automatically offload unused Apps on iPhone
  1. Home
  2. Mac
  3. How to automatically offload unused Apps on iPhone
offloading apps

You must have been notified by the following alert “Storage Almost Full” on your iPhone. iOS monitors the storage on your device by analyzing how much space each App uses etc. As a result, when your storage space grows, you’ll receive an alert to buy additional cloud storage or offload unused apps to the Cloud. Opting for the latter option leads to offloading your apps. Kindly refer to these related guides: Turn off calls from iPhone: How to unlink FaceTime from Mac, and how to link your Android or iPhone to your Windows 10 PC.

As you can see in the image below, I have some rarely used apps offloaded in order to manage space. This can be done automatically or manually to free up local iPhone storage.

iPhone storage management

What is Offload App?

Before I proceed to discuss the steps to address this, I would like to discuss what an offload App is. Previously, you had the option to keep an app on your device (iPhone) or have it deleted.

If the app is kept, the app and its data will continue to occupy local storage. If the app is deleted, the app itself and all its local data are gone! You may want to see these related guides:

From iOS 11, Apple introduced the option to offload apps. This keeps in keeping your apps, by offloading to the cloud instead of deleting them. In theory, when an app is offloaded, the app itself is deleted, which clears local storage.

However, the app documents and data are still saved locally on your iPhone. Once you reinstall the offloaded app, you can keep using it like before as the app data is still saved.

One of the advantages of offloading unused apps is the ability to free up storage space. Apps can take up a lot of storage space on your iPhone. Therefore, offloading the apps you don’t use often is an easy way to free up more space on your iPhone.

Here are some related guides: Microsoft Phone Link: How to Link and Unlink an Android Phone to Windows 11, and how to configure GPS location “Google Map” on your Android Studio Emulator.

How to automatically offload unused apps on iPhone

Given the increasing app sizes, it is only reasonable to offload apps to keep local iPhone storage free. To do this, kindly Open Settings as shown below on your device.

automatic app offloading

Click on the App Store

optimizing iPhone storage

As you can see below, the Offload unused App is currently disabled by default as at the time of writing this guide.

offloading apps

To enable it, we will have to toggle the switch on as shown below. That is all you need to have some of your unused apps automatically offloaded to reduce space.

iPhone storage management

Method 2

Alternatively, you could also do this from the following “iPhone Storage” as discussed below. To do this, open settings as shown below

IMG_7115

Click on General

IMG_7120

Select on iPhone Storage as shown below.

IMG_7121

Click on Enable Offload Unused Apps.

IMG_7128

But you cannot disable it from this window. To disable the automatic offload of data, you will need to do this via the App Store.

Please see How to clear cookies, history, and cache in Safari, and How to restore accidentally deleted calendars, bookmarks, files, or contacts from iCloud.

Note: You can offload all third-party apps you downloaded from the App Store and several Apple apps like TV, Music, Mail, Files, Maps, etc. You cannot offload or delete Photos, Phones, Safari, Wallets, Messages, and Health apps.

I hope you found this blog post helpful. Please let me know in the comment session if you have any questions.

Thank you for reading this post. Kindly share it with others.

  • Share on X (Opens in new window) X
  • Share on Reddit (Opens in new window) Reddit
  • Share on LinkedIn (Opens in new window) LinkedIn
  • Share on Facebook (Opens in new window) Facebook
  • Share on Pinterest (Opens in new window) Pinterest
  • Share on Tumblr (Opens in new window) Tumblr
  • Share on Telegram (Opens in new window) Telegram
  • Share on WhatsApp (Opens in new window) WhatsApp
  • Share on Mastodon (Opens in new window) Mastodon
  • Share on Bluesky (Opens in new window) Bluesky
Mac

Post navigation

Previous Post: How to use Windows 11 PC Health Check App
Next Post: How to Add or Remove Sites from Favorites list in Microsoft Edge

Related Posts

  • Enable or Disable Mac asking for Password
    Enable or Disable Mac asking for Password after Sleep or Screen Saver Mac
  • disableFaceTime567u
    Sign out of FaceTime: How to disable or enable FaceTime on Mac Mac
  • Mendeley Cite with MSWord Issue resolved
    Mendeley Cite ECITE40001 Error: Fix issue using Microsoft Word Desktop application Mac
  • PNG JPGconversion 2
    How to change the default screen capture format in macOS Mac
  • unzip mac 994x400 1
    How to set a default app to archive files on macOS Mac
  • screenshot 2020 05 11 at 20.03.56
    How to remove printers from HP Utility Mac

More Related Articles

Enable or Disable Mac asking for Password Enable or Disable Mac asking for Password after Sleep or Screen Saver Mac
disableFaceTime567u Sign out of FaceTime: How to disable or enable FaceTime on Mac Mac
Mendeley Cite with MSWord Issue resolved Mendeley Cite ECITE40001 Error: Fix issue using Microsoft Word Desktop application Mac
PNG JPGconversion 2 How to change the default screen capture format in macOS Mac
unzip mac 994x400 1 How to set a default app to archive files on macOS Mac
screenshot 2020 05 11 at 20.03.56 How to remove printers from HP Utility Mac

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Microsoft MVP

vexpert-badge-stars-5

Virtual Background

VEEAMLEGEND

Categories

veeaam100

Veeam Vanguard

  • Server Manager
    How to reinstall Server Manager and disable Server Manager at startup for all users and login users Windows Server
  • xxxxxx
    How to make a screenshot of Windows 10 Screen / Login Screen Windows
  • How to Disable the Password Manager of Google Chrome
    How to Disable the Password Manager of Google Chrome Password Manager
  • banner
    What is Phishing Resistant Multi-Factor Authentication? Security | Vulnerability Scans and Assessment
  • cisco switches
    Delete the configuration of a Cisco router: How to wipe configuration off an interface on a Cisco router Network | Monitoring
  • Screenshot 2022 03 20 at 20.37.16
    Setup HTTPS users using Git credentials and Pushing Code to AWS CodeCommit AWS/Azure/OpenShift
  • parttt
    Adding a new partition to an existing Linux server Linux
  • Synology Diskstaion update to latest version 7.3
    Download and update Synology DiskStation NAS to DSM 7.3 Storage

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,752 other subscribers
  • RSS - Posts
  • RSS - Comments
  • About
  • Authors
  • Write for us
  • Contact
  • Advertise with us
  • General Terms and Conditions
  • Privacy policy
  • Feedly
  • Telegram
  • Youtube
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Tumblr
  • Pinterest
  • Twitter
  • mastodon
  • Bsky

Tags

Active Directory Azure Bitlocker Microsoft Windows PowerShell WDS Windows 10 Windows 11 Windows Deployment Services Windows Server 2016

Copyright © 2026 TechDirectArchive

Loading Comments...

You must be logged in to post a comment.