JIRA|Confluence|Apps

Leave a Slack Workspace temporarily: How to deactivate a Slack workspace

slackrmspace

Slack is a messaging app for businesses that connects people to the information they need. By bringing people together to work as one unified team, Slack transforms the way organizations communicate. At the time of writing this piece, Slack was developed by an American software company Slack Technologies, and is now owned by Salesforce. Slack offers many IRC-style features, including persistent chat rooms organized by topic, private groups, and direct messaging. Kindly refer to these similar guides: How to install and configure Jitsi video conferencing server on Ubuntu, how to set up and configure Jitsi as SoftPhone, how to update Zoom Desktop Client on macOS, and how to integrate WordPress site with WP Telegram.

Please be aware that when you deativate the Slack workspace. To get in the workspace again, you will need to have the administrator of the workspace add you back. Here are some related yguides you may want to visit: How to install and configure BigBlueButton on Ubuntu Linux 16.04 LTS Xenial Xerus, and how to install Mattermost on Ubuntu and Debian.

To temporarily remove a workspace, launch the Slack application over the browser. Select the workspace name at the top-left corner of the window. A drop-down menu will appear. Here, select “Profile“.

Note: You can also do this on your macOS or Windows device. Navigate to the workspace you would like to leave. 
slackprofile

Once selected, the Workspace Profile will be displayed. Click the icon with three vertical dots. This will prompt another drop-down menu. Please, select “Account Settings.”

Screenshot-2021-11-17-at-13.24.11-1

Next, you will be redirected to the “Account Settings” tab of the selected Slack workspace.

Note: If you are doing this on your PC, the tab will open in your default browser and you will have to sign in to your Slack workspace to proceed.

In this window, please scroll down to the “Deactivate Account” option. Since we are interested in deactivating the workspace, click on the “Deactivate Your Account” button.

Screenshot-2021-11-17-at-13.25.30

Please enter your password in the text box and click “Confirm Password.”

Screenshot-2021-11-17-at-13.26.50

A warning message appears asking you to confirm before deactivating the account. Please, select “Yes, Deactivate My Account.”

Screenshot-2021-11-17-at-13.27.21

Another message appears asking if you’re really sure you want to deactivate your account. Click the box next to “Yes, I Want To Deactivate my account” and then select “Deactivate my account.”

Screenshot-2021-11-17-at-13.29.06

As you can see below, you have successfully deactivated the Slack workspace. To get in again as discussed above, you must contact the administrator of the Workspace.

Screenshot-2021-11-17-at-13.29.39

I hope you found this blog post helpful. If you have any questions, please let me know in the comment session.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x
Kindly subscribe to TechDirectArchive
This is default text for notification bar